Felicidad | Happiness

4 Nov

Andando alrededor de la presa de Heredia, tomando un cafecito con un amigo, fijando mi mirada a las nubes que juegan con la silueta del sol, devolviendo la sonrisa de un niñito en el bus.

Son las cositas pequeñitas que me ponen feliz.  Apenas cada otro día algo me trae una ola de buenas sentimientos y un frase viene a mente que me fuerza gritar con felicidad.

¡Estoy en Costa Rica!  Qué increíble.  ¡Estoy en Costa Rica!

De vez en cuando es difícil.

De vez en cuando me siento como si hable español peor que los gringos borrachos que tratan de pronunciar con dificultad “Dos moor cervesers . . . favor” en un bar turística.

De vez en cuando me siento frustrado con las esteriotipas que alguna gente me pone por mi pelo rubio por lo que ellos ven a veces de gringos que viven con sus ojos cerrados.

Me golpea otra vez y todo los “de veces en cuandos” parecen como sueños lejanos.

¡Estoy en Costa Rica!

Walking around bustling Heredia, grabbing a caffecito with a friend, gazing up to see the clouds play with the outline of the sun, returning the smile of a little rascal as he messes with his mom on the bus.

It’s the little things that bring me a feeling of happiness that’s one part contentment and two parts elation.  About once every other day, something causes this wave of brilliant emotion to wash over my world without reason and one phrase comes to mind that I’m forced to try to not shout at the top of my lungs.

I’m in Costa Rica!  Holy crap… I’m in Costa Rica!

Sometimes it’s hard.

Sometimes I feel like I speak spanish worse than a the damn drunk gringos that slur out a drunken “Dus moor cervesers . . . favor” at a touristy bar.

Sometimes I feel frustrated from the stereotyping and discrimination that form part of daily life because of my blonde hair, what stereotypical gringo’s historically do in Central America (drugs, drink, & women), and how we’re sometimes (justly) perceived in Costa Rica.

Then the joy hits me again and all the “sometimes” seem like a distant dream.

I’m in Costa Rica!

Amo el sentimiento de la sonrisa incontrolable que viene con contentamiento. Gracias amigos y Costa Rica. 
I love the feeling of an uncontrollable smile that comes with contentment. Thank you friends & Costa Rica.
One Response to “Felicidad | Happiness”

  1. Mark November 4, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    kev,
    jealously following your journey over the last 5 months. Your insite and growth is a joy to read about and wish you continued safe travels!

    Love ya man and looking forward to seeing you over the holidays. If you time your visit to Houston right, might be able to catch a Texans tailgating party!

Leave a Reply

