Summer Wrap Up

16 Aug

I’ve been blessed to have lived (and survived) an incredibly eye opening and rewarding summer.  It’s been a roller coaster ride that’s without a doubt shaped me, my perspective on life, and my future path.

Here’s a map of my travels (originally for the parents) with a few stories of the inspiring people I crossed paths with:

The Scenic Route from Charlotte to Costa Rica

Pictures capturing the journey are now up under the Photography project tab.

Everything from the 3000 yr old Mayan ruins of Tikal, Guatemala below

To the heart wrenching reality of poverty forced since birth on street kids.

This was taken from inside our van at 5mph as we were literally driving off.  The kids persisted through the open windows until we were driving too fast for them to hang on.  Imagine life if mom & dad sent you to the street every day to sell trinkets because school isn’t in the realm of possibilities for you family.

“Please.  One dollar.  Para libros.”

But don’t think for one second this is the story of Central America.  Every person I met had their own charm, and the living vibe & joy of Latin Culture is contagious.   It’s hard not to fall in love here.

If you have any questions, shoot them my way.  I’d love to answer any nagging thoughts you have.  Thanks for keeping up with me this whole time.

As they say in Costa Rica, where I am now:

¡Pura Vida!

Kevin

Leave a Reply

